
Interactive Brokers is a Nasdaq-listed multi-asset broker with access to 175+ markets, spot currency quotes as narrow as 0.1 pip and a choice of Lite and Pro pricing.
Spreads from
—
Commission
$0.2 bps of trade value
Min deposit
$0
Established
1978
Regulated by
FCA · Central Bank of Ireland · ASIC · SEC / FINRA / CFTC · Monetary Authority of Singapore · Securities and Futures Commission (Hong Kong) · Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization · Kanto Local Finance Bureau (Japan)
Written byLaverlane Team·Updated7 Nov 2026
Researched with AI assistance and verified by our editors
Regulation
Authorised and regulated by multiple Tier-1 authorities through separate group entities.
Interactive Brokers LLC is a member of NYSE, FINRA and SIPC and is regulated by the US Securities and Exchange Commission and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority under FRN 208159, and Interactive Brokers Ireland Limited is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland (C423427). Affiliates also hold licences in Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan and Singapore. That spread of Tier-1 oversight is wider than at many offshore-only brokers, though the protection a client receives depends on which entity holds the account.
Key facts
A long-established, publicly listed brokerage with a founder still serving as chairman.
Client-facing entity
Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited
Regulators
FCA, Central Bank of Ireland, ASIC, SEC / FINRA / CFTC, Monetary Authority of Singapore, Securities and Futures Commission (Hong Kong), Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization, Kanto Local Finance Bureau (Japan)
Negative-balance protection
jurisdiction-only
Minimum deposit
$0
Platforms
Proprietary
Interactive Brokers Group, Inc. was founded by chairman Thomas Peterffy and lists on Nasdaq under IBKR. The group reports more than 5 million clients, client assets above $903 billion and total equity above $22 billion. Nearly 50 years of operation and S&P 500 membership give it a longer track record than younger online brokers, which benefits clients who prioritise firm strength. Smaller investors may find that its focus on active and advanced users makes it less approachable.
Best for
Pros & cons
Fund safety
Client assets held under US reserve and segregation rules, with published disclosures.
Interactive Brokers LLC states that about 11% of client money is segregated in special bank or custody accounts and about 89% is invested in short-term US Treasuries, as of 1 July 2026. Its Insured Bank Deposit Sweep Program offers eligible clients up to $5,000,000 of FDIC insurance on an individual account, on top of SIPC cover. Publishing reserve figures gives clients more to assess than a headline claim alone. US account holders benefit most, whereas clients of other entities such as Interactive Brokers Ireland Limited rely on local schemes with different limits.
Account terms
Agency execution with published commission schedules and no stated account minimums.
Interactive Brokers describes its business as agency execution and clearing, with orders routed through IB SmartRouting. The commissions page states that there are no account minimums or platform fees. Published schedules let investors model costs in advance, which compares well with brokers that bury charges in spreads. Clients who prefer one flat fee may find tiered schedules harder to compare.
Costs
Fixed and tiered commission plans, plus a separate low commission on spot currencies.
IBKR Lite charges $0 commission on US-listed stocks and ETFs for eligible US and Singapore residents, while IBKR Pro Fixed starts at $0.005 per share with a $1.00 minimum per order. Spot currencies carry 0.08 to 0.20 basis points of trade value, with a $2.00 minimum per order at the entry tier. Low per-unit pricing benefits active and higher-volume traders, but minimum charges weigh more on very small orders.
Markets
Multi-asset access across 175+ markets in 40 countries.
Forex CFD
100 pairs
Commodity CFD
Metals, energies, softs
Single-Stock CFD
Real ownership: Stocks / ETFs
Stocks, ETFs, Crypto
IBKR lists stocks, ETFs, options, futures, bonds, spot currencies, mutual funds, US spot gold and prediction markets on its site. Spot currency trading covers 100+ pairs across 28 currencies. That range goes well beyond the CFD-only catalogues of many online brokers, which benefits investors who want several asset classes in one account. Beginners seeking a short list of simple instruments may find the choice overwhelming.
Platforms
A range of platforms from browser and mobile apps to professional desktop software.
IBKR offers Client Portal, IBKR Desktop, IBKR Mobile for iOS and Android, Trader Workstation (TWS) and IBKR GlobalTrader. Automated traders can use the Web API (REST), FIX and the TWS API, which supports C++, C#, Java, Python, ActiveX, RTD and DDE. This breadth gives more choice than brokers built around a single app. TWS suits experienced traders, but its depth carries a steeper learning curve for casual investors.
Execution
IB SmartRouting searches multiple venues for favourable prices.
IB SmartRouting searches for favourable available prices for stocks, options and combinations across exchanges and dark pools. IBKR also provides regulatory reports on broker performance on its site. Routing across venues can improve price discovery compared with single-venue routing. Fills in fast or thin markets can still differ from displayed quotes.
Leverage
Margin is available on eligible accounts, subject to risk disclosures.
The broker advertises margin loan rates from 4.38% and lets eligible clients use cash or securities as collateral to increase buying power. Its margin page warns that losses can exceed the initial investment and that margin calls or forced liquidation may follow. Lower borrowing costs benefit experienced margin users. Margin requirements depend on the account, product and entity, so retail clients should check the limits that apply to them.
Account types
Lite and Pro plans for individuals, plus advisor and institutional accounts.
| Account | Min deposit | Commission | Swap | Spread | Demo | Islamic |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IBKR Pro | $0 | $0.005 per share (US stocks and ETFs, fixed; min $1.00 per order) | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| IBKR Lite | $0 | Spread-only | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
Individuals can open individual, joint, trust, IRA and UGMA/UTMA accounts and choose between IBKR Lite and IBKR Pro during setup. IBKR Lite is aimed at occasional investors and is limited to eligible US and Singapore residents, while IBKR Pro is aimed at active traders. The site states there is no account minimum on either plan. Clients can switch between plans, which suits those whose trading volume changes over time.
Funding
Bank-based funding with published timing and fee tables.
IBKR accepts deposits by wire transfer, cheque, direct bank transfer (ACH) and other methods listed on its funding page. It does not accept physical cash deposits and charges a 1% handling fee (minimum $50) if cash is deposited. Electronic transfers pay interest from the settlement date, unlike cheques, which carry a hold period. Clients should also ask their own bank about any charges it applies.
Support
Email, phone and live chat support backed by a large knowledge base.
Clients can contact the broker through the Message Center, by phone and through a live chat room, and can use user guides, video tutorials and platform FAQs. Formal enquiries made during standard hours are generally answered within 24 hours. Password and security-device issues can only be handled by phone. A broad self-service library helps experienced users resolve issues quickly, though newcomers may prefer a more guided service.
Availability
Group entities in the US, Canada, Europe, Australia and Asia-Pacific.
The group serves clients through affiliates in the US, Canada, the UK, Ireland, Australia, Hong Kong, India, Japan and Singapore. Some products, such as IBKR Lite, crypto and forecast contracts, are limited to eligible clients in specific jurisdictions. Regional entity assignment helps meet local legal requirements. Product range and protection can differ by entity, so clients should check which one applies to them.
Verdict
IBKR combines wide market access, published commission schedules and a Nasdaq-listed parent with equity above $22 billion. Its platforms and APIs suit experienced traders, while the range of tools can feel complex for newcomers. Protection and available products depend on which regulated entity holds the account, so clients should check their own entity before opening one.
IBKR suits you if you trade several asset classes and want published pricing, API access and global market coverage. If you're a beginner who wants a simple app, you'll probably find the range of platforms more than you need.
Active traders, systematic traders and investors who want global multi-asset access, and who are comfortable learning professional-grade platforms.
FAQ
Interactive Brokers is operated by Interactive Brokers Group, Inc., which trades on Nasdaq under the ticker IBKR and is a member of the S&P 500. The firm's strength and security page says IBG LLC is owned by the public company (26.5%) and by employees and their affiliates (73.5%). Founder Thomas Peterffy remains chairman of the group.
Interactive Brokers offers spot currency trading on 100+ currency pairs across 28 currencies. Quotes combine streams from 17 large FX dealers, with displayed spreads as narrow as 0.1 pip and a separate commission of 0.08 to 0.20 basis points of trade value. The minimum commission is $2.00 per order at the first tier and falls to $1.00 at the highest volume tier.
IBKR states that crypto trade execution and custody are provided by Paxos Trust Company and ZeroHash to eligible clients of Interactive Brokers LLC. This is spot crypto trading, and the Interactive Brokers LLC site does not list crypto CFDs. Availability depends on client eligibility and jurisdiction.
Interactive Brokers offers IBKR Lite, with $0 commissions on US-listed stocks and ETFs for eligible US and Singapore residents, and IBKR Pro, where fixed pricing starts at $0.005 per share on US stocks. IBKR Pro Fixed has a minimum of $1.00 per order and a maximum of 1% of trade value. The commissions page states that there are no account minimums or platform fees.
Interactive Brokers suits active and experienced traders who want access to 175+ markets through one account. Its platforms offer advanced tools, so casual investors may find them complex. Fit depends on costs, account eligibility and the regulated entity that holds the account.
Alternatives
Eightcap offers CFDs on 850+ markets through TradingView, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and TradeLocker, with a Raw account that starts from 0.0 pips. Clients outside the regulated regions contract with Eightcap Global Limited in The Bahamas, which carries no statutory compensation scheme.
Octa offers swap-free forex and CFD trading on OctaTrader, MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5, with no trading commission and a $25 minimum deposit. Accounts on octabroker.com are with Versustrategy Inc, registered in Saint Lucia, and the legal documents page lists no financial regulator.
JustMarkets offers leverage of up to 1:3000, swap-free trading and MT4, MT5 and its own app, but international clients contract with an offshore Seychelles entity without a statutory compensation scheme.
FXCM offers forex and CFD trading on Trading Station, MetaTrader 4 (MT4) and TradingView. Accounts on the international website are with Stratos Global LLC, an offshore entity in St Vincent and the Grenadines that sits outside the group’s regulated companies.
ThinkMarkets offers ThinkTrader, TradingView, MT4 and MT5 with 4,000+ instruments and leverage of up to 1:500 on Standard and ThinkZero accounts. International clients contract with a Seychelles-licensed entity.
IronFX operates as a retail CFD broker providing high leverage up to 1:1000 on MetaTrader 4, but international clients contract through an offshore entity without statutory compensation protection.
CFI Financial offers MT5, TradingView and its own app with no minimum deposit and leverage of up to 1:500. International clients trade with CFI International Ltd, licensed in Mauritius.
EC Markets offers MT4, MT5 and its own app with a $10 minimum deposit on STD and ECN accounts and leverage of up to 1:1000. International clients trade with the Mauritius-licensed entity.
General CFD risk warning
CFDs are complex leveraged products and carry a high risk of rapid losses. They do not give you ownership of the underlying asset. Depending on your jurisdiction, broker entity and client classification, protections such as leverage limits and negative-balance protection may differ or may not apply. Where negative-balance protection is not provided, losses may exceed the funds you deposit. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the high risk of losing your money.
Disclaimer
This page is provided for general information only. Nothing on this page constitutes investment, tax or trading advice, or a recommendation to open an account or trade with a particular broker. Laverlane does not provide personalised investment advice. We are not a broker or financial institution, we do not arrange or execute trades, and we do not hold client funds.
Broker availability, spreads, fees, leverage, products and legal protections, including compensation schemes and negative-balance protection, vary by the broker’s legal entity, your country of residence and your client classification, and may change over time. Where a broker is required to publish its retail CFD loss rate, that figure is shown on its review page. Spreads shown are typical figures as at our verification date; they are not guaranteed and may widen, particularly during volatile market conditions.
Laverlane Scores reflect the information available at our most recent review. They are editorial assessments, not guarantees of a broker’s financial strength, reliability or future performance. Where we report a regulator warning or enforcement notice, it reflects the official public information available at the time of our review.
Links to brokers take you outside Laverlane. We are not responsible for a third-party website’s content, privacy practices, security or handling of any data you provide. Our research may be compiled with AI assistance and is checked by our editorial team against available sources before publication.
Always verify the broker’s current terms, regulatory status, product availability and eligibility directly with the broker before opening an account or depositing funds.